REVIEWS

Royce Surman Oct 18, 2019

The managing director, Passang, has perfect English and is a true Sherpa by heritage and experience. This business is a family affair and his father, Kunga, who has guided 8000m 40 times!!! Lead our expedition. We all succeeded on making Everest base camp and kalapatthar despite living at sea level our whole life. The experience of Kunga and Passang got us to the top. We had all the best accommodation which made the trip enjoyable and comfortable. Highland expeditions did their very best to make our trip amazing. Honesty and value. We paid the best price compared to all the people I’ve spoken to since and we had a helicopter descent. 10/10 would recommend and will use highland expeditions again soon for the Annapurna circuit.

Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek
John McNeil Sep 27, 2019

Having known the people who started this company a long time ago its grown a lot since then and just gets better and better. I and a group of friends took the challenge of Everest base camp trek with Island peak climb during Spring 2019. I have personally visited Nepal a couple of times before and this time I decided to go big by climbing a 6000m peak.

I knew Pasang from before and I knew that he is the man who can pull this together even at a short notice and yet deliver a great experience. I got in touch with Pasang and he helped me with all the planning and preparation for the climb. On trek & climb, it was outstanding with all the experiences and services delivered as said. On our return, the weather was not good for the fight to operate so without any further delay, Pasang got us in a helicopter on the same day.

Took a while for me to leave a review of our climbing experience but they did a great job

John, Rob, Dan, Jeff

Island Peak Climb
Luiz Carlos Wanderer Jul 30, 2019

Excellent service and care, during all the tour.
I hired Highland Expeditions to arrange a tour in Nepal, to know Pokhara and Chitwan.
From the very first, mr. Passang Tsering Sherpa was taking care of all details and arrangements.
Unfortunately, the peaks desired (Anapurma and Everest) were not possible to view, because of weather conditions.
Nonetheless, all the tours were very good, thanks, also, to mr. Passang efforts and care.
Highly recommend services!
Private Tours to Pokhara and Chitwan
November, 2018

Best of Nepal Tour
Thomas Bronner May 21, 2019

This was a great introduction for multiple days of climbing at high altitude. I joined Highland Expeditions for Three Peaks Climbing (Mera Peak, Island Peak and Lobuche Peak). We started with Mera Peak, crossed Amphu Lapcha pass before hitting Island peak and finally concluded with Lobuche East. I choose Highland Expeditions based on the itinerary of their climb and the details they provided me after our first exchange of emails. The approach/itinerary was well-tailored with more days for trek and acclimatization, safety was always a priority as our group was backed up with oxygen system, medical kit and a sat phone, everything on trip was included and taken care of. The guides were amazing, young, talented, caring, responsible, and knowledgeable which made it an unforgettable experience

All these certainly made a big contribution to my summiting and I imagine this was true of others also. April 2019 Climber 

Three Peaks Climbing
David Neal May 01, 2019

Summited Island Peak (20,000ft) without any serious issues and all this was made possible by the expert team at Highland Expeditions. The overall leadership, logistics and services were excellent during the entire trek & climb. The itinerary includes acclimatization trek to Everest base camp, which I personally think is really helpful before attempting the peak. Compared to other companies we had extra rest days and easy days which I feel helped me. 

Our climbing guide (Ang Sona) and Sherpas were nothing short of excellent. They were such good people to guide you all the way to the summit of Island Peak and back. 

Island Peak Climb
James Houghton Apr 10, 2019

It was certainly one of the most awesome highly enjoyable experiences we have ever had in half day time. It can not be explained. It must be experienced. One of the best tours we ever joined. 

Arriving at Kathmandu airport before departure you are given a safety briefing. You then board your helicopter and are treated to the most breathtaking views of the Himalayas. Fly over the Himalayas, quick photo session at Kalapatar and have breakfast at Everest view hotel. It’s worth every penny. 

Everest Base Camp Helicopter Tour
Yaw Yean Chan Apr 03, 2019

I have little experience on trekking and this was my first trail and was a tough one. Without the support and help from the trek leader and the porter, i would not have made it to the high camp. Thank you Phunuru and John for the great support during the hiking

Mardi Himal Trek
Joseph cheng Apr 03, 2019

The trip was well organized, although ABC was closed, they were able to quickly recommend Alternative route, Mardi Himal Trek.

The city tour especially Shivaratri festival was very crowded but the guide was able to bring us through the queue and to the right spot. The guide was able to adapt to our requirement as we are mainly photographer. Lastly, the porter (john) was a hero, big salute to him

Mardi Himal Trek
Ian Morrison Dec 02, 2018

I highly recommend Highland Expeditions to anyone looking for trekking and climbing in Nepal. I climbed Mera Peak together with the team of Highland Expeditions and what an experience it was.

The entire trip was well planned and the itinerary was devised nicely with slow ascent and more acclimatization, the entire staff was amazing, especially our guide Pemba, who was incredibly friendly and expert in his work. In general Highland Expeditions delivered a great service.

Mera Peak Climb
Dr. Ananthan E Nov 17, 2018

Went to the Annapurna Base Camp on the 20th till 30th Oct, 2018, 10 days trek with Highland Expeditions. Passang and his team of guides (Pemba, Shyam and cheerful porters) made it a truly wonderful and memorable trip. I already miss waterfalls, snow, rivers, bridges, mountains and the hospitable gurung people. Passang and his team made safety a priority while being cheerful company. Food was good and aahhh that ginger lemon honey drink throughout.

Highland Expeditions – Best Company Ever!!

Thank you
Anan

Annapurna Base Camp Trek
Dr. Shahrul K Nov 17, 2018

I had the most wonderful first experience of Nepal through Highland Expeditions. Passang and crews attention and personal care ensured it was a safe and memorable adventure. 

I highly recommend them

Annapurna Sanctuary Trek
Marie Glen Oct 01, 2018

I am a frequent traveller and have been to Nepal on three different occasions. Each time with different operator (Foreign and Local Company) but recently i travelled with Highland Expeditions after knowing them from my colleague and they are above all the companies i have travelled with before. 

After doing short and lower elevation treks previously during my trip to Nepal, this time i decided to do Everest Base Camp Trek combined with helicopter flight back to Kathmandu and i had a trip of a lifetime with them. From communication prior to arriving until the departure, everything worked perfectly. Passang welcomed me at the airport and after reaching KGH, he gave us trip briefing and covered all the important aspects of trek which was really helpful. Their guides were amazing and we couldn’t have made it without them. Hotel in Kathmandu, Tea Houses/Lodges, Guides and logistical arrangements were all top notch. 

After three consecutive trips to Nepal, I finally found a company that i can rely on.

Everest Base Camp Heli Trek
Meredith Drukker Sep 20, 2018

I can’t say enough good things about traveling with Highland Expeditions! From communication and information before the trip, to getting me out of Lukla during bad weather after the trek, I felt really lucky to be with Highland Expeditions. 

I made it to EBC with no altitude sickness, had an amazing local guide who helped me go at a slow pace and knew all about the region. I felt safe (as a solo young female traveler) the entire time, and reaching EBC was one of the highs of my life! 

Passang organized a custom solo trip for me. He answered all of my questions before and during, did all of my airport transfers and set up a really great tour around Kathmandu with a private guide for one of my extra days.

More than anything though, I knew I went with the right tour company when all flights were cancelled to and from Lukla due to the weather after the trek. After only two days of being stuck, Passang got me the last spot on the last helicopter leaving for that day (only 2 helicopters had gone in days). Everyone else at my lodge was still stuck, some people for almost 8 days. To get a helicopter you HAVE to have someone with connections in Kathmandu and Passang made sure I got out and made my international flight.

This trip was the trip of a lifetime for me! Every day was filled with the most amazing views I’ve ever seen and I will remember it for the rest of my life! I think everyone should do this trip and use Highland Expeditions!

Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days
Dr. Vasanthi R Jun 03, 2018

We embarked on the trip little realising how demanding the logistics can be, the mountains and weather care for no one. 

Highland Expeditions with Passang and Mr. Kunga (Our trip guide) made our encounter with the magnificent mountains and lakes an amazing experience. Their care, concern, professionalism and expertise were beyond expectation. Highland Expeditions is a team i trust with my life. In the Himalayas, you need this. Also, very importantly was how well they looked after their staff and porters and how they provided our team of 3 with 4 staff. We saw many group with far far less staffing ratio.   

Everest Base Camp and Gokyo Lakes Heli Trek
Dr. Thana S Jun 03, 2018

Not an easy trek but the exhilaration of walking with the Himalayas all around us made it all more than worth the while. 

Definitely recommended for anyone who wants to walk in a picture postcard setting. It’s cold, It’s tiring, It’s exhausting, you will be pushed to your limits but it was a life changing experience for us. 

Thanks to Highland Expeditions for looking after us so well. 

Everest Base Camp and Gokyo Lakes Heli Trek

Review Form

Affiliated with

LATEST BLOG

Things you should know about Prayer Flags

When you arrive in Nepal, the one thing that you will notice from the city, up to the mountains, through the high passes, villages and along the trail are prayer […]

REVIEWS Real People, Real Stories

The managing director, Passang, has perfect English and is a true Sherpa by heritage and experience. This business is a family affair and his father, Kunga, who has guided 8000m […]

Royce Surman Amazing support and communication

JOIN THE NEWSLETTER

We accept

Enquiry